Gregory & Tyrus join the board of the Yale Drama Series

May 3, 2017

Tyrus Emory and Gregory Rae have joined the board of the Yale Drama Series.

Founded in 2007 by the David Charles Horn Foundation and their intrepid leader Francine Horn, the Yale Drama Series is an annual international competition for emerging playwrights writing in English. The Yale Drama Series is unique in that submissions are open, blind, and scripts are judged by highly accomplished playwrights. Past judges include Edward Albee, Sir David Hare, John Guard, Marsha Norman, and Nicholas Wright.

Since 2007, over 12,000 total submissions from 47 countries have been received and read. The winner receives the David Charles Horn prize of $10,000, publication of their manuscript by Yale University Press and a professional staged reading at Lincoln Center Theatre’s Claire Tow Theatre. Rufus Norris, Director of London's the National Theatre, will host the 11th annual Yale Drama Series event in November 2017 at the National Theatre Studio.

Ayad Akhtar will be the judge for the 2018-2019 competitions.

"What is wonderful is no C.V. is attached ... Names are unknown to us ...We simply read the play."
-- David Hare

"It's a play that can just come over the transom and be read and be acknowledged ... wow."
-- John Guare

"It's ... the most democratic competition around. Anybody can enter it."
-- Nicholas Wright

"The Horn Foundation is dedicated to honoring emerging playwrights that are looking to have their voice heard and that regenerates the theatre."
-- Francine Horn